Canadian Emergency Management & Business Continuity Awards

Past Recipients (Click on the name for details)  

Emergency Management

Business Continuity

Program overview
The purpose of the awards program is to recognize and encourage those who have made extraordinary contributions to emergency management or business continuity in Canada. The awards will provide an opportunity for Canadians to honour individuals who have raised the bar and set standards for others to emulate. The 2010 awards were presented at the 20th World Conference on Disaster Management in Toronto, Canada, June 6-9, 2010.

The awards are to recognize individuals who have made a lasting contribution in the fields of emergency management or business continuity in at least one of the following areas:

  • Community Preparedness (Provincial/Territorial, Regional or Municipal)
  • National Preparedness
  • Private Sector Preparedness

There will be two awards:

Canadian Award for Emergency Management - to recognize an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in, or contribution to emergency management. For the purposes of this award, emergency management is defined as an integrated approach to the management of emergency programs and activities for all four emergency phases (prevention/mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery), for all types of emergencies and disasters (natural and human induced), and for all levels of government and the private sector.

Canadian Award for Business Continuity Management - to recognize an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in, or contribution to business continuity management (or continuity of operations planning). For the purposes of this award, business continuity management is defined as a holistic management process that identifies potential impacts that threaten an organization and provides a framework for building resilience with the capability for an effective response that safeguards the interests of its key stakeholders, reputation, brand, and value-creating activities

Each recipient will receive a special plaque and their names engraved on an
Awards Board.

The awards will be made during the annual World Conference on Disaster Management (WCDM). Only winners' names shall be announced.

General Eligibility Individuals involved in the selection process, including members of the selection committee and Directors, employees and contractors of the Canadian Centre for Emergency Preparedness, may not submit nominations or be eligible for nomination.

All nominees must be active volunteers or professionals in the field of emergency management or business continuity for five or more years (since January 1, 2005).

Nomination Process

  • The nominator must choose one category per nomination.
  • Nominations may be submitted by any person familiar with the nominee and his/her work; self-nominations will be accepted
  • Nominations should provide two references. The nominator may be one reference.
  • Submission forms will be posted on the CCEP web site.
  • Nominations must be made on-line in the format published on CCEP's web site.

Marketing the Awards
The award criteria and details will be announced through CCEP's communications media (CCEP's web site and Disaster Management Canada magazine), as well as through professional associations in Canada, Provincial EMO's and federal
government departments.

The proposed timeline for the 2010 Awards will be:

Feb 15: Announcement of the 2010 Awards Program and Selection Committee
Apr 30: Nominations close
May 14: Final selection by Committee
June 9: Announcement at 20th WCDM

Selection Process
To be considered, a nominee must:

  • meet the eligibility requirements;
  • be nominated according to the guidelines;
  • provide at least two references.

Selection Committees

Emergency Management Award

Richard Kinchlea (Chair)
VP Operations,
Canadian Centre
for Emergency Preparedness

Dr. James Young
Correct Solutions

John Lindsay
Department Chair,
Department of Applied Disaster
and Emergency Studies
Brandon University

John Ash
Chief, Integrated Public Safety
City Of Ottawa
Business Continuity Award

Business Continuity Award

Gary Mohr CBCP (Chair)
Executive VP
Canadian Centre for Emergency Preparedness

Ann Wyganowski
Vice President, HZX Business Continuity Planning
Past President, Disaster Recovery Information Exchange (DRIE) Toronto

Jayne Howe FBCI, MRP, CBRM
Managing Partner

Lisa Benini MBCP, CRM
BCM Consultant
Benini Consulting Ltd.

Heather Tomalty ABCP
President & CEO
Ever Resilient Consulting and Training

Nominations for the 2010 awards are now closed!

Top of page